Day 2 – Lavender Lemon Curd

9 Jul

Day 2: Today, I was very excited to get back into the kitchen.  Yesterday’s cookies were such a success (bigger than I thought they would be) that trying something new today was exhilarating.  Like yesterday, the second recipe I found included lavender, as we have a big bag from the Farmers’ Market.  After cooking with the lavender yesterday I now understand why it is such a valued herb in the kitchen.  Tuesday’s recipe was a Lavender-Lemon Curd.  Now, I am one who enjoys Afternoon Tea and my favorite part is always the scones (I will make them on day 5) and lemon curd.  Lemon curd is always so fresh and delightful, but it was never something I thought of attempting to make in my own kitchen, but instead  a special treat mom visited and took me to tea, I traveled to London, or we were celebrating my aunt’s 60th birthday.  Now, I feel confident that my mom and I could celebrate my aunt’s 65th birthday here (not in London) while enjoying some delicious and light Lavender-Lemon Curb.

IMG_2731

I found this recipe on Happy Valley and Lavender Herb Farm‘s webpage.  It was surprisingly super easy to prepare for and carry out!  Lynda’s Lavender-Lemon Curb was delicious and I would recommend it for a Saturday morning breakfast, high tea at your place, or just simply to sneak a spoonful of while deciding what to eat in the fridge.  The recipe is as follows.  Thank you Lynda!

Lynda’s Lavender-Lemon Curd

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of real butter
  • 1¼ cup white sugar
  • 2 lemons, rind & juice up to 1/2 cup
  • 4 well beaten eggs
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon dried lavender flowers or 3 tablespoons fresh

Directions

  • In order to make this, I used a double broiler, as Linda suggested.  I boiled a medium pot of water and once boiling, lowered it to a simmer and placed a bowl on top of it.
  • Into the bowl I added the butter and sugar and mixed until melted together.
  • Add the remaining ingredients and whisk gently until thickened.  **After doing some research on the web I found that this process would take about 15 minutes to do.  I was concerned about the eggs being raw and wanted to make sure to cook them through.  Some websites told me if I was using a thermometer it should read 170 degrees.  Another website told me to dip a spoon into the curb.  If I run my finger down the middle the two sides of curd should stay separate. I tried using a thermometer, but with the double boiler I could only get the temperature up to 160 degrees.  Using the spoon method I was successful!
  • Pour through a sieve – I used a colander,as I do not own a sieve – but will be going to get one this weekend 🙂
  • Once it cooled, I spooned the curd into small jars.  I spooned mine into two jars, as I will be taking some to my mom tomorrow.
  • Keep refrigerated!

IMG_2740

IMG_2745

Outcome

Wow!  It was delicious and easy to make with so few ingredients and steps.  I will be keeping this in my refrigerator and look forward to eating it with my scones on Saturday morning.  Check back on Friday for the my scone recipe and experiences!  Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

