Day 3 – Chocolate Lavender Fudge

10 Jul

IMG_2750

Day 3: Well, I almost did not have time to cook/bake today, but as dinner heated up (yes, I made leftovers), I snuck a quick recipe in.  This recipe is for chocolate lavender fudge, another item I have never dreamed of making in my own kitchen.  You think of fudge (or maybe I think of fudge) and remember trips to the New Jersey boardwalks of Atlantic City or Ocean City, or the town of Long Beach Island where I spent many, many summers growing up.  Spending the night in the fresh sea air, and stopping along the way for a taste of the decadent fudge was always the best way to end a day of fun in the sun.  Reliably, you could find the typical flavors – chocolate, vanilla, peanut butter, Rocky Road.  You could only have one or two pieces, as each piece was extremely rich, but it was always a treat.

When I came across this recipe on Serenity Lavender’s website, I just had to try it.  Much like my childhood fudge, I knew it would be sweet and delicious, but, with the lavender added in, it seemed that it would become more “gourmet”.  Below is the recipe and my thoughts.

Ingredients

  • 2 cupes semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 300 ml can of sweetened condensed mile
  • 1 Tablespoon ground lavender
  • 3 Tablespoons butter

Directions

  • Combine all ingredients into a double boiler.  ***This just means to heat a pot of water to boiling.  Once boiling, lower the heat to a simmer and place a bowl on top of the pot. ***
  • I added the chocolate chips first and allowed them to melt.  Once melted, I added the condensed milk, the butter and finally the lavender.  Stir continuously until all ingredients are melted together.
  • Line an 8X8 pan with wax paper (although I used parchment paper, as I did not have any wax paper – another item I will have to purchase this weekend!)  I also sprayed the bottom with a bit of cooking spray so that it would adhere to the pan.
  • Sprinkle extra lavender leaves onto the top to add beauty.
  • Cover the dish with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator overnight.

This is as far as I made it tonight, as it is cooling in the fridge.  I will take it out in the morning, cut it into pieces and give it a taste so that I can report back.

Outcome

So far, this has been an easy recipe.  It includes few ingredients and was easy to pull together last minute.  As I licked the bowl (hey, I’m allowed, it’s my kitchen!), the fudge tasted delicious.  I will report back tomorrow as to the taste once all of the flavors come together and cool.  Keep your fingers crossed – this weekend we are going to a party, and we are hoping to take some fudge with us!

The verdict is in.  The fudge had a wonderful consistency, just like the fudge you buy at a store.  As for taste, I felt like it tasted just like the chocolate chips I used.  I did not find anything  special about my fudge.  There was a slight lavender taste, but nothing overpowering.  Maybe in the future I will make some adaptations to the recipe to add more flavor.  But, let me be honest, chocolate is good no matter what.  So, yes, they are edible!

Thanks for stopping by!

IMG_2749

2 Responses to “Day 3 – Chocolate Lavender Fudge”

  1. Kirsten July 15, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    The Hungates give 2 thumbs up!

  2. abbyrote July 16, 2013 at 12:24 am #

    Thanks Hungates!!!

Leave a Reply

