Day 5 – Lemon Lavender Scones (Gluten Free)

12 Jul

IMG_2773

Day 5:  Well I have made it to the end of my first week!  Five recipes in five days.  Pretty impressive!  Today I made lemon lavender scones, gluten free of course, which I have never done before.  Scones are one my favorite baked goods, but in my opinion, often taste better at a cafe/bakery than they do at home.  We shall see.

I found this recipe on the site Serendipity Refined.  Kimberly’s recipe was not a gluten free recipe, but I adapted it, just changing the flour used.  I am posting the original recipe below with my changes in parenthesis.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour (I used 1 cup coconut flour and 1 cup Trader Joe’s all purpose gluten free flour)
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking  soda
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon zest
  • 2 teaspoons lavender (divided – I only ended up using 1 1/2 teaspoons)
  • 4 Tablespoons chilled butter
  • 1/2 cup nonfat yogurt
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (I made a buttermilk substitute, as I always buy buttermilk and most of it usually goes to waste as I do not use the entire container.  I looked online and found that 1 Tablespoon lemon juice and 1 cup of milk makes a nice substitute.  I used vanilla almond milk, as that is what I had on hand.)
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar (I did not use – I did not make the frosting)
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh squeezed lemon juice (I did not use – I did not make the frosting)

IMG_2770

Directions

  • Preheat over to 400 degrees.
  • Combine flour(s), sugar, salt, baking powder, baking soda, lemon zest, and 1 1/2 teaspoons of lavender.
  • Cut butter into pieces and cut into dry ingredients with a pastry cutter (I used a potato masher – I am working with what I have here!)
  • In a separate bowl, mix together the yogurt and buttermilk (milk and lemon juice mixture)
  • Combine wet ingredients with the dry ingredients.  Form a dough that will be sticky and moist.
  • Turn dough onto a floured surface and knead a few times.  Shape into a circle about 1 inch thick.
  • Use a knife to cute the dough into eight triangles.  (I cut it in half, into quarters, etc.)
  • Transfer the triangles to an oiled baking sheet.  (I placed parchment paper onto my cookie sheet and sprayed it with non-stick cooking spray.)
  • Bake for 20 minutes or until the scones are golden brown. (Once again our oven is HOT, so mine were in for a shorter period of time.)
  • Remove from oven and cool on a baking rack.
  • While scones are cooling, dissolve powdered sugar in lemon juice and mix in 1/2 a teaspoon of lavender.  Drizzle over scones and serve. (I did not do this step.)

Outcome

The scones were definitely good.  They had a subtle lemon and lavender flavor.  They were a bit dry, but not terribly so.  I did not add the frosting, as we were planning on eating the scones with the lemon curd and peach lavender butter from earlier this week.

Here is what I will try changing for next time.

  • Bake the scones for a shorter period of time (at least in my oven.)
  • Make sure when rolling out dough not to get too thin.  The scones were a bit flat.
  • Work on the shape of the scones for better presentation
  • I will make one more confession as well.  I forget to put the butter in before mixing the wet and dry ingredients together.  I feel like this could have affected the consistency.  Oooopps.  I will try these again one day!

Otherwise, they were really good, especially with some lavender lemon curd and peach lavender butter!

Thanks for visiting.  Have a great weekend!

IMG_2774

Leave a Reply

