Week 2: Day 1 – Beet Chips

22 Jul

Week Two, Day One: Baked Beet Chips

I’ve started making hummus on Sundays so that we have a big container for the week (if it makes it that long!)  Since embarking on a gluten-free diet, crackers are hard to come by, so we have been using a lot of vegetables for dipping.  Once I began thinking about recipes to make at home, instead of buying, I thought, how about chips?!?  They would be great with some hummus!  I scoured the internet and found that people make just about everything into chips – potatoes, sweet potatoes, carrots, beets, apples, taro, kale, etc.  Now, I don’t have a dehydrator, which would make this task significantly easier, but I figured why not try them in the oven.  This recipe only needed 3 ingredients, what could be easier?!?!

IMG_2806

I found recipes on many websites, but ended up using this recipe from A Cozy Kitchen, which was adapted from a Martha Stewart recipe.

Ingredients

  • 4 medium beets (I only used 2)
  • 2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
  • sea salt

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Peel beets and slice 1/16 inch thick with a mandolin.  **[This will have to be added to the “Things Abby needs in her kitchen” list.  I didn’t have one, so I didn’t use one.  Instead I cut thin slices with a knife (see outcome below.)]**
  • Toss beets with extra virgin olive oil.  The beets should not be drenched in olive oil, but simply have a fine coating.
  • On a rimmed baking sheet, arrange beets in a single layer.  Sprinkle with sea salt.  **(I used two baking sheets and placed parchment paper down first.)**
  • Stack another rimmed baking sheet on top of each beet sheet (like that rhyme?)  Bake until the edges begin to dry out, about 20 minutes.  Uncover and rotate sheets.  Bake 10 to 20 minutes more, removing chips as they become lightened and paler in color.  **(I only covered one sheet with an extra baking sheet, because I only have 3 in total.  I did find the covered sheet doing better than the uncovered sheet.)**
  •  Transfer to a wire rack; chips will crisp as they cool.

IMG_2808Outcome

I did not find success with this recipe.  As easy as I thought it would be, my chips were not very good.  To start,  a mandolin would probably have helped making the chips thinner and easier to crisp.  My chips took a lot longer to bake (crisp)  than I thought they would.  When they finally came out of the oven, some were crispy, others were flimsy and still the consistency of a beet (chewy and flexible.)  Even the ones that were browning did not seem to have the proper consistency.  The chips that were crispy definitely tasted good, although a bit salty.  I will definitely try these again, because I do believe they have potential.  I did not get to dip them in hummus, so tomorrow I will use veggies!

IMG_2809

 

Of course, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

