Week 2: Day 2 – Baked Potato Chips

23 Jul

Week Two, Day Two: Baked Potato Chips

After yesterday’s beet chips catastrophe, I wanted to try to redeem myself and my ability to make chips.  I decided on the potato.  Again, there are a ton of recipes online for baked potato chips, but I settled upon adapting Martha Stewart’s Baked Potato Chip Recipe combined with this recipe from iVillage.

IMG_2813

Sliced potatoes using a knife, not a mandolin.

Like yesterday, only three ingredients were on my list; potatoes, extra virgin olive oil, and salt.  I could do it!

The recipe is as follows.

Ingredients

  • 2 medium waxy potatoes, peeled or unpeeled (I used unpeeled – I like the skins.)
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • coarse salt

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spread parchment paper on two baking sheets.
  • Using a mandolin (I don’t have one – I used a knife) slice the potatoes to approximately 1/16 inch.
  • Pout the olive oil into a bowl.  Using a pastry brush (I used my fingers), lightly coat the potatoes with the oil.  (Add a pastry brush to my “Abby would like” list)  Sprinkle with salt.
  • Arrange potatoes in a single layer onto the prepared baking sheets.
  • Bake, rotating sheets halfway through, until the potatoes are crisp and golden brown.  About 30 minutes.
  • Take out of the oven and allow to cool on a wire rack.  Chips will continue to crisp as they cool, and should stay fresh in an airtight container for several days (see my reflection below).
IMG_2815

Baked Potato Chips fresh from the oven.

Outcome

Today was a much better day!  The chips tasted as wonderful as I expected!  Most of the chips crisped nicely and tasted like a potato chip.

Several learning points:

  • Buy a mandolin, even a cheap one, to see if it works better.  I just googled them online and found a cheap one for $10.
  • The chips will finish at different times, as they are cut at different thicknesses (no matter how hard I tried!)  That means you must keep a steady eye on the chips, removing them as they crisp.
  • Try next time with different seasonings.  Barbeque, rosemary, sour cream and onion?

The one thing that was upsetting was that my chips did not stay crunchy through the night.  I am not sure if it is because it is summer and close to 100 degrees outside, therefore making my apartment quite steamy?  Or whether the container I stored them in was not “airtight” enough.  Possibly I should have let them cool for longer before storing them.  Who knows?!?  Tomorrow I will be making sweet potato chips and will experiment with some alternatives and will keep you posted. (get it?!)

My thought: I am going to make a different type of chip each day this week to see which, if any, work best.

IMG_2819

Thanks for reading!

2 Responses to “Week 2: Day 2 – Baked Potato Chips”

  1. Shannon July 24, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

    Tried a “School’s Out For Summer” inspired dinner tonight (homemade baked falafel and hummus) and it was a big hit! Thank you! Also, because it is me, I have to warn you that mandolins are a little dangerous, be careful!

    • abbyrote July 25, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

      Thanks, Shannon! Glad I was able to inspire you.
      I’ll be careful of the mandolin!

      ~A

Leave a Reply

