Week 2: Day 3 – Baked Sweet Potato Chips

24 Jul

Okay – Chips, Day 3.

Today I decided on making sweet potato chips.  The potato chips worked pretty well, aside from maintaining their crunchiness, so I figured a sweet potato might be my next best bet!  I found this recipe on Martha Stewart’s website, again.  I adapted it to make it my own, which you will see below.

IMG_2829

Ingredients

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes **(I only used one so that I could experiment – and not waste food!)**
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt, preferably sea salt
  • 1 lime, cut into wedges, for serving **(I did not use.)**

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Slice the potatoes into 1/16 inch slices.  **(I used a knife, but feel that a mandolin might work better.)**
  • Drizzle with oil, sprinkle with salt, toss, and spread in a single layer divided between 2 baking sheets.
  • Bake until centers are soft and edges are crisp – approximately 22-25 minutes.  Flip the potatoes one time during the baking process.  **(I kept my potatoes in the oven for almost 40 minutes.)**

IMG_2837

Outcome

They were definitely delicious when they came out of the oven.  Some were crispier than others, no matter how long I kept them in.  Many of the sweet potatoes had to stay in the oven for almost 40 minutes, and were still not crunchy or crispy.  Baked sweet potatoes almost always taste wonderful, so on the one hand they were a success.  On the other hand, they were not chip-like.  Also, like my regular potato chips, they did not make it through the night.  In the morning they were quite soggy and rubbery.  In the end, I will have to say that these were not a complete success.  If I would have eaten all of the chips yesterday within a few hours, it would have been a more successful cooking session.  But, unfortunately, I did not.  Oh well!  I may just have to wait until I buy a dehydrator to make any more chips.  Tomorrow, on to homemade granola!

Leave a Reply

