Week 2: Day 4 – Granola (Gluten Free)

25 Jul

Week Two, Day 4: – (No More Chips!)  Granola (Gluten Free)

IMG_2834

After my experiences with chips this week, I decided to throw in the towel and move on.  I wanted to make something I could enjoy throughout the remainder of the week – knowing that I would find success (yes! surprise! sometimes I play it safe!)  I turned to a recipe I found a while back from the book, Wheat Belly by William Davis.  I read this book a few months ago, after I already started my gluten free diet.  The book was scientific by nature, and validated why I was no longer eating wheat products and why I was already feeling a change (better?!)  In the book there were several gluten free recipes for readers to try out – this being one of them.  I am glad I tried it out today!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup quinoa flakes or old-fashioned rolled oats **(I used rolled oats.)**
  • 1/2 ground flaxseed **(I buy flaxseed already ground.)**
  • 1/2 cup raw hulled pumpkin seeds (pepitas)
  • 1 cup chopped raw cashews – separate **(In order to chop, I placed in a plastic sandwich bag and crushed them with a rolling-pin.  It worked beautifully.  I am sure there is a certain tool I am missing here.  Add it to my list.)**
  • 1/2 cup sugar-free vanilla syrup **(I don’t think mine was sugar free…whoops.)**
  • 1/4 walnut oil **(I used extra virgin olive oil, but will add this to my list of “Abby’s wants”.)**
  • 1 cup chopped pecans **(In order to chop, I placed in a plastic sandwich bag and crushed them with a rolling-pin.  It worked beautifully.)**
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 dried fruit – i.e. – raisins, dried cranberries, dried cherries, etc.  **( I used dried cranberries.  They suggest unsweetened, I used what I had.)**

IMG_2821IMG_2825

Directions

  • Combine the oats, ground flaxseed, pumpkin seeds, 1/2 cup cashews, vanilla syrup, and oil.  Toss to coat.
  • Spread the mixture in an 8 X 8 inch baking dish and press down to make an even layer that is about 1/2 inch thick.
  • Bake until nearly dry and crispy, about 30 minutes.
  • After removing from the oven, let the mixture cool in the pan for an hour.
  • Meanwhile, combine the pecans, almonds, dried fruit, and remaining 1/2 cup of cashews in a bowl.
  • Break the cooled oat-flaxseed mixture into little pieces and stir into the nut-fruit bowl.

It is ready to be eaten!  And, boy did I eat it!?!

IMG_2838

Outcome

Success!!!  This was yummy!  The granola was sweet, without being overly sugary and had a subtle vanilla flavor.  Crunchy and chock-full-o-nuts, it was not exactly the granola I am used to buying from the store, but instead fresher and somehow tasting more “natural”.  I enjoyed mine for breakfast with some ice-cold almond milk!  This will definitely be a recurring recipe in my kitchen, as it has less sugar and all unprocessed ingredients!

IMG_2833

Leave a Reply

