Week 2: Day 5 – Banana-Blueberry Muffins (Gluten Free)

26 Jul

Week 2, Day 5:  Banana-Blueberry Muffins (gluten free)

Well, it is Friday and my last day in the kitchen this week!  I decided to make something I would enjoy eating over the weekend.  Rarely can you go wrong with pastries, so I settled on these banana-blueberry muffins, once again from the book Wheat Belly by William Davis.  These will definitely be gone within the next 24 hours!IMG_2851Ingredients

  • 2 cups ground almonds **(I bought this already ground into a flour.)**
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed (same as above)
  • sweetener such as stevia or splenda equivalent to 3/4 cup sucrose **(I used sugar, even thought that goes against the Wheat Belly book.  I felt okay with it.)**
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sour cream or coconut milk **(I used light coconut milk.)**
  • 1/4 cup walnut or coconut oil **(I ended up using olive oil, as I did not have either of the others on hand.)**
  • 1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen, or other berries **(I used fresh, because I had them on hand.)**

IMG_2842

IMG_2847

 

 

 

 

 

 

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Grease or use muffin cups for a 12 cup muffin tin. **(I did not use cups, and instead greased my pan.)**
  • Combine the ground almonds, flaxseed, sweetener, baking powder and salt. Mix well.
  • In a separate bowl, mash the banana. Add the eggs, sour cream or coconut milk and oil. Mix well.
  • Add the banana mixture to the almond mixture and mix thoroughly.
  • Fold in the blueberries.
  • Spoon the batter into the muffin tins, filling them to just about halfway.  **(I had enough batter to fill more – so I did.)**
  • Bake for 35 to 45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out dry.  **(My oven is way too hot, so mine only took about 20 minutes.  Definitely keep an eye on them!)**
  • Cool in the tin for about 10 to 15 minutes. Transfer to a rack to cool completely.

IMG_2858

Outcome

The muffins were delicious!  They were moist, sweet, but not over sugary, and the blueberries kept them fresh.  They were a bit hard to get out of the tin, but by using a knife to slide them loose around the edges, they came free!  These will be a great treat after dinner, or a wonderful breakfast on the run!  In the past I made muffins that were not quite as good gluten free as they were when full of gluten, but these were different!  (They are almost gone!)

Thanks for visiting.  Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

